Random Thoughts From a Random Guy

Things that make me cry…

Being the manly man that I am, it takes a lot to make me cry. You know, other than chopping onions.

But without fail there is one thing that tugs at my heart strings and starts to turn the eye faucets on…. Futurama.

Yep, a cartoon makes me cry, I’m not ashamed.

But it’s not just Futurama in general, it is one specific episode called Jurassic Bark. If you’ve seen it you know it (and you probably cried a little too). But if you haven’t, it’s the episode where Fry finds his dog from his time that was fossilized. He plans to take the dna from the dog and bring him back to life. But then he realizes the dog lived many years after Fry left and he figures that the dog probably forgot about him and moved on with his life, so there was no reason to bring the dog back.

This is where it gets sad. They end the episode with his dog Seymour waiting on the curb outside of the pizza place Fry worked… and waiting… and waiting… everyday for all 12 years. He grows old waiting on that curb for Fry to come back… And this whole montage is done while playing “I will wait for you” by Connie Francis. I get misty eyed just thinking about it!

So there you have it, the one thing, with out fail, that will make me cry. But hey, even spam bots cry at the end of that episode – http://xkcd.com/233/ <– on this comic hold your mouse over and you'll see what I mean.

Leave a Reply

